Building an online journalism CV with Storify

I think it is safe to assume that there is not a single employer within the media today who will not check out your credentials online before interviewing, or hiring a candidate. Luckily, there’s a lot of tools out there to make everything you’ve done look shiny and awesome. storify I’ve used lots of different tools to try and create online portfolios for myself, and I wrote about this for Wannabe Hacks a few months ago with my experimentations.

However, a post from a friend the other day recommended a Storify online interactive CV, which I found the most easy to put together, far beyond all other online tools. Here’s her step-by-step guide. Interested in taking your CV interactive on Storify?

Here’s how: 1. Head over to Storify. You can create a new account, or you can log in using your Twitter or Facebook details.

2. At the top right corner, click ‘Create Story’.

3. On the right-hand side, search for content from all over the web using the different tabs – Twitter, Facebook, YouTube etc. – or click on the hyperlink tab to embed a URL.

4. Once you have what you’re looking for, simply drag the content into the post on the left. Don’t worry about where you place it as you can move it around later.

5. Click between different pieces of content to write something and use the toolbar on the top left to edit your text, or add a hyperlink

6. When you’ve finished, click on ‘Publish’ at the top and share your interactive on Twitter or Facebook.

Hint: If you link toTwitter accounts from your Storify post, you can choose to notify those users that they’ve been quoted in your story when you publish.

My permanent portfolio is here, on my blog, and details everything I have ever written and published (excluding some curation, re-writing and university work) I found Storify to be a really useful tool. Here’s my finished product:

Simply put in a title, a sub-heading, and then you can search, drag and drop content from any number of URLs or social media channels. I chose to put in mostly links to my work, interspersed with information about the story, where I worked and the responsibilities I had been entrusted with.

I chose to use a question and answer format, somewhat like an interview, and broke up the text with links, images and videos.

At the end I linked to my portfolio in full, and an email contact. I like the way it looks; it’s clear, interesting, straight-froward, but does require two clicks on the ‘read-more’ button to see the full thing. I could cut that down, but I want the full version in there to be honest.

I also tried to exhibit the full range of my work, from work experience, to internships, freelancing, online, video and radio, to give a rounded version of myself, that would be sent to employers for many different jobs. Storify is very easy to use and share, and I could change it without much hassle to tailor it to individual roles.

[View the story “Why should you hire Natasha Clark to work for you?” on Storify]

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Careers, Media

What do you think?

