New starts: Getting paid to watch Andrew Marr

I started blogging about journalism, work experience, careers and politics in around 2006, (back on Blogger, since transferred) and I’m really happy to say that as of August 1, I’m going to be being paid to work full time, writing about politics for a website called Politics Home.

view

This post isn’t intended as a way of bragging about that, or some sense of smug satisfaction, but to remind myself that a year ago I’d never been paid to write, and if it’s something that you really want to do – you just have to keep going until you get there.

As of a fortnight ago, I finished my MA at City, and handed in my 5,000 word final project. Everyone there is going to go on to do wonderful things, and the people who haven’t got something permanent yet, I am confident that it’s purely a matter of time before they do. This is not what you want to hear when you’re job-hunting, but it remains true; something will come up.

In the past 12 months I’ve written for numerous newspapers and websites and agencies, and have reached the stage where I can get paid for it. It’s a wonderful feeling and I hope it doesn’t pass anytime soon. Yes, it’s not much, but I enjoy it, and it’s what I want to do with my life. And if that’s what you want to do tot: meeting new people, investigating, researching, talking to people, experiencing new places, cultures and ideas… then keep going until you get there.

I’ve also moved into a new room in east London, which is a buzzy, fun and interesting area near to good travel links. Despite learning how to work the heating, paying a heap of council tax and dealing with the wobbles of a blow-up mattress, it feels great to have some freedom, and to be forming some sort of routine and to be getting everything back on track. I’m even joining the gym this week – who’d have thought it.

Unfortunately, this time has been slightly overshadowed by the passing away of a family member of someone who is very close to me, which is overwhelming, and confusing and stressful for all involved (selfishly, including me). It has, however, reminded me of what truly matters; friends and family. Of course that sounds cheesy and it is. But it is true, and during my rubbish days I try to remember it.

It doesn’t matter how much I am earning, or where I am living, or how long my to-do list is at the moment (although all of those things do worry me). Spending time with my wonderful Mum, Dad, sister, grandparents and extended family is very much a priority for me, as well as working as hard as I can to ensure that I get my career off to the best possible start. Doing this all surrounded by my friends and loved ones is an utter bonus, and I hope to keep that at the forefront of my attention and practice the gratitude of it everyday.

2 Comments

Filed under Careers, Journalism, Politics

2 responses to “New starts: Getting paid to watch Andrew Marr

  1. Slightly belated congratulations on your job – it’s an influential site, and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.
    It’s been a long year since we first skirmished over that Interactive v Newspaper Wannabe Hacks post hasn’t it? 🙂

    • Thanks Adam! I’m really looking forward to starting it.

      Ah those were the days eh? Something tells me the debates between the Tories and Labour will be a bit more complex…

What do you think?

